homepage illustration
homepage illustration
  • afbeelding 1
  • afbeelding 2
  • afbeelding 3
  • afbeelding 4
  • afbeelding 5

ECMT Board

The president of ECMT is Dr. Jean-Pierre van Buyten, anesthesiologist in Sint Niklaas, Belgium. The other members of the Board are:

  • Prof. Jan-Pieter Clarys, anatomist from Brussels, Belgium
  • Dr. Jan Maeyaert, anesthesiologist from Eeklo, Belgium
  • Prof. Eric Buchser, anesthesiologist from Morges, Switzerland
  • Prof. Stefan De Wachter, urologist from Antwerp, Belgium

Prof. Jean-Pierre van Buyten

board member photo

Was born in Sint-Niklaas, Belgium in 1954. He graduated from the Free University of Brussels (VUB) with a Doctor's degree in medical science, surgery and obstetrics in 1980. From 1980 until 1984 he specialized on Anesthesia-Intensive-Care medicine and Pain Therapy under the supervision of Prof. Dr. G Haenegreefs. He obtained his special professional degree in INTENSIVE CARE MEDECINE in 1997 after having worked in Anesthesia & Intensive-Care (AZ Middelheim Antwerp, the Children's Hospital Antwerp, University Hospital Antwerp), in Pain therapy (University Hospital Gent - Dr. R. Verschraegen, Department of Anesthesia – Prof. Dr. Rolly) in Neuroanaesthesia CHU Montpellier - Prof. Roquefeuille and Obstetric anesthesia (CHU Pitié-Salpétrière Paris- Dr. J. Seebacher). He was Consultant in Pain therapy at the Catholic University of Leuven Dept of Anesthesia from 1989 till 1994 and Consultant in Pain therapy at the University of Antwerp department of Anesthesia since March 1997 until 2003. He now is a full-time member of the staff of the Department of Anesthesia/ Intensive Care/ Pain Clinic AZ Maria Middelares Sint-Niklaas since September 1984, he was the Chairman of the department of Intensive care until 2004 and since then he is Director of the Multidisciplinary Pain Centre AZ Nikolaas ( former AZ Maria Middelares )

Prof. Jan-Pieter Clarys

board member photo

Was born in MECHELEN, BELGIUM on 30.04.1947 and married to Else de Vos and has 2 children: Marie (16.09.1989) and Julie (16.10.1990). He is Master in Physical Education, Master in Biomedical Sciences, Doctor in Biomedical Sciences and has a Diploma of Orthopaedic Medicine. He was awarded the Dutch Prize of Sport Medicine in 1978 (Amsterdam), the Philip Noel Baker Research award - ICSSPE - UNESCO in 1995 (Ottawa). He is doctor Honoris Causa of the John Moores University of Liverpool since July 1996, is honorary citizen of Montpellier (France) and Florence (Italy).


  • Prof. Clarys started as a researcher for the Belgian National Fund for Scientific Research at the University of Ghent and Brussels in 1969. He became associate Professor in 1977 and full Professor in Anatomy and Electroyography in 1988. He teaches Topographical- Functional- and Clinical Anatomy to Medical-Physical Education – Physiotherapy - Farmacy – Manual Therapy and Clinical Engineer students.
  • Prof. Clarys is editorial board member of the Journal of Electromyography and Kinesiology . The Journal of Sports Medicine and Physical Fitness. Int. Journal of Training and Coaching
  • He is Past-President of the World Commission of Sports Biomechanics (WCSB) (ICSSPE-UNESCO) and Past-President of ISEK (International Society of Electrophysiology and Kinesiology)
  • He presented 120 keynote or invited lectures on International Congresses of Sport Sciences, Sport Medicine, Biomechanics, Ergonomics and Body Composition and presented another 140 papers on conferences with a scientific committee. Prof. Clarys wrote 8 books and published over 200 articles. He completed 18 student courses and produced plus edited 14 published scientific and educational video films.
  • As Secretary General and President of the WCSB-ICSSPE-UNESCO he was directly involved in the organisation of 22 conferences and as treasurer and president of ISEK, he supervised another 4 conferences world-wide.
  • Since 1990 he is head of the Anatomy Department (EXAN) and between 1996 and 2004 he was Dean of the Faculty of Physical Education and Physiotherapy.
  • He was executive board member of the Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB) until 2007

Dr. Jan Maeyaert

board member photo

  • Born: 29-07-54
  • Medical Degree 1980 - Catholic University Leuven
  • Training in Anesthesiology 1984 : Catholic University Leuven
  • Consultant Pain Clinic Department, Catholic University Leuven from 1988 to 1996
  • Director Pain Clinic Department, Heilig Hart Clinic, Eeklo, Belgium
  • Member of ESRA - ASRA - IASP
  • Treasurer Belgian Pain Society
  • Secretary Flemish Pain Society

Prof. Eric Buchser

board member photo

Eric Buchser is currently the head of Anaesthesia and Pain Management Services at the Neuromodulation Centre at the Hôpital de Morges, Switzerland, and a consultant in anaesthesia at the University Hospital, Lausanne, Switzerland. Professor Buchser specialised in anaesthesia in 1983 after obtaining a federal diploma in medicine and a doctorate in medicine. His postgraduate training included clinical fellowships at the Pain Clinic at the University of Washington in the United States and in the Anaesthesia Department at the McGill University in Montreal, Canada.

He is well published in the area of pain management and neuromodulation and has written several book chapters. Professor Buchser is a reviewer for the European Journal of Anaesthesia and the European Journal of Cardiothoracic Surgery and has multiple teaching duties, including being an examiner at the Swiss Examination of Anaesthesiology. He is a member of several national and international societies and a founding member of the Swiss Society of Palliative Care Medicine.

Prof. Stefan De Wachter

board member photo

Curriculum Vitae

Personal details
Stefan Gert Gust De Wachter

Professional Career
• 1999 : Medical Doctor cum Maxima Laude; University of Ghent
• 2003 : Doctor in Medical Science (PhD); University of Antwerpen
“ Sensation and sensory evaluation in the Lower Urinary Tract”
• 1999-2008: Resident in Urology, University of Antwerpen; Prof. Dr. J.J. Wyndaele
• 2006-2008: Lecturer at Faculty of Medicine, University of Antwerpen
• 2006-2009: Lecturer at Institut d’Enseignement Superieur Parnasse-deux Alice”
• 2007- : Member Editorial Board Spinal Cord
• 2008- : Certified Urologist
• 2008-2012: Staff Member department of Urology, Maastricht University Medical Center; Prof. Dr. Ph. Van Kerrebroeck
• 2008-2012: Assistant Professor, Maastricht University Medical Center
• 2008-2012: Senior Researcher European Graduate School of Neuroscience
• 2008-2012: Visiting Professor University of Antwerpen
• 2012-2014: Senior Staff Member – department of Urology, Academic Hospital Antwerpen
• 2012-2014: Associate Professor of Urology – University of Antwerpen, Belgium
• 2014- : Head of the Urology department – Academic Hospital Antwerpen
• 2014- : Professor of Urology – University of Antwerpen, Belgium
• 2014- : Member of the Board of European Continuous Medical Training (ECMT)

Publications and Lectures/Presentations
• Promotor and co-promotor of 9 PhD thesis defended to obtain the degree of Doctor in Medical Science in Belgium and the Netherlands
• Author of 89 papers in national and international peer reviewed journals
• Author of 6 chapters in international urological books
• Author or presenter of 64 abstracts presented at national and international congresses
• 89 national and international invited lectures

• Laureate of 10 national and international awards including
o European Assocation of Urology Thesis Award, 2004
o Best Scientific Paper published on Fundamental Research in European Urology; Prize of the EAU Publication Committee; 2007